Simple Character Controller

Mar 11, 2013 at 4:44 AM
First off - I must say this is a damn gorgeous engine, both in terms of visual appeal and engine architecture! Well done!

I'm an amateur game programmer, and I've been looking into using this engine to create a simple 3rd person physics/blocks puzzler (as part of a uni assignment with a couple other group members).

After looking through the examples, I thought I'd take the physics example as reference and try and create a simple 3rd person character controller. I started with a kinematic plane for the ground, and a dynamic box as the "player". I can get the camera attached to the box position no problems. The problem arises with actually controlling my "player".

I thought I'd try using the dynamic box, so that the character is affected by collisions and gravity (so he can jump around and be bounded by kinematic walls and floors). I can get linear movement sort-of working acceptably by altering the rigidbody entity's linearvelocity on each update. However, to turn the character, I resorted to altering angularvelocty or angularmomentum using the local Up vector multiplied by Mouse.DeltaX. This results in incredibly jerky and unnatural rotation. (I'm guessing this is due partly to the inertia tensor - and something to do with the angular velocity not being enough to overcome static friction?)

Implementing the same game character using a kinematic box and just altering position and orientation directly using transforms results in a much smoother experience. However the drawback to this is that it doesn't collide with the walls or floors, and also is not affected by gravity.

Basically my question is this: is there a straightforward, simple way to implement a character controller using a dynamic rigidbody object in XNA Final Engine?
Alternatively, how would I go about using a kinematic entity, yet restricting it from moving through the walls and somehow still being affected by gravity?